Awards Week: Cy Young

The Baseball Writer’s Association of America announced the winners of the 2012 American League and National League Cy Young Awards on Wednesday night.

The American League winner is David Price of the Tampa Bay Rays.

David Price (Keith Allison/Creative Commons)

The 27-year old southpaw went 20-5 with a 2.56 ERA this season; he beat out Detroit’s Justin Verlander and Los Angeles’ Jered Weaver for the award.

The National League winner is R.A. Dickey of the New York Mets.

R.A. Dickey (slgckgc/Creative Commons)

Dickey, 38, enjoyed the best season of his ten-year career, as he went 20-6 with a 2.73 ERA. Other NL finalists include Washington’s Gio Gonzalez and Los Angeles’ Clayton Kershaw.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s