#134PiratesTrivia Answer 3/9/12

EDIT: @nhdrumline11 has pointed out that Len Yochim also had 3 wild pitches in one inning: http://www.baseball-reference.com/boxes/PIT/PIT195406190.shtml …  Pirates.com lists Ellis and Sauerbeck as the only 2 to accomplish this: http://pittsburgh.pirates.mlb.com/pit/history/single_game_records.jsp… There could be even more pitchers that have thrown 3 wild pitches in an inning. Therefore, we’re just going to discard this question (it won’t be kept in the 134 Pirates Trivia page). Our apologies.

Tonight we asked…

…and the answers to tonight’s #134PiratesTrivia are…

Dock Ellis and Scott Sauerbeck

Ellis threw three wild pitches in one inning against the Cincinnati Reds on May 1st, 1974. Sauerbeck tied Ellis’ record when he threw three past the catcher on September 19, 2000 vs. Philadelphia. Both players dealt with some trouble during their playing years, with Ellis’ being much better known.

For your reading pleasure, here’s how Dock remembered his infamous no hitter while on LSD:

“I can only remember bits and pieces of the game. I was psyched. I had a feeling of euphoria. I was zeroed in on the (catcher’s) glove, but I didn’t hit the glove too much. I remember hitting a couple of batters, and the bases were loaded two or three times. The ball was small sometimes, the ball was large sometimes, sometimes I saw the catcher, sometimes I didn’t. Sometimes, I tried to stare the hitter down and throw while I was looking at him. I chewed my gum until it turned to powder. I started having a crazy idea in the fourth inning that Richard Nixon was the home plate umpire, and once I thought I was pitching a baseball to Jimi Hendrix, who to me was holding a guitar and swinging it over the plate. They say I had about three to four fielding chances. I remember diving out of the way of a ball I thought was a line drive. I jumped, but the ball wasn’t hit hard and never reached me.”

And also a recap of Scott Sauerbeck’s incident in 2006:

On May 30, 2006, Scott Sauerbeck and Lily Miller were arrested by police after his 1966 Lincoln Continental convertible, driven by Miller, was observed weaving at 3:45 a.m. Police allege that Miller and Sauerbeck attempted to avoid arrest by parking the car and hiding in some bushes in a residential backyard. Miller was charged with drunken driving. Sauerbeck pleaded not guilty to obstructing official business and permitting someone intoxicated to drive his car. 

Congratulations to tonight’s only winner, @BurgFaninNJ.

Thanks to all who participated, and tune in next time for another edition of #134PiratesTrivia.

Go Bucs

Leave a Reply

